Driving While Intoxicated Law Firm Maryland
If you were charged with a DWI, you need the help of a driving while intoxicated law firm Maryland drivers rely on like The Law Firm of Frederick J. Brynn, P.C. The possible penalties for a first-time DWI vary according to jurisdiction. Nevertheless, it is a mistake to assume that the court will let you off easy when it is your first offense or that there is no possibility that you might serve jail time. Government at all levels takes driving while intoxicated very seriously. Lawmakers often impose harsh penalties, up to and including incarceration, in the hopes of deterring future DWI cases. Get help from a DWI attorney MD offers now.
Though DWI laws vary by state, our Maryland driving while intoxicated law firm knows that a first-offense DWI is typically a misdemeanor in all jurisdictions. Nevertheless, you may face a more serious drunk driving charge even if it is your first offense if certain aggravating factors are present, such as death and/or serious injury or child endangerment.
It is fairly common for you to go on probation after a first-offense DWI, which means that you stay out of jail. However, do not count on avoiding jail time. As states continue to pass tougher drunk driving laws, many now impose minimum mandatory jail sentences even for a first time DWI. The average sentence ranges from 10 to 30 days, so speak with our MD driving while intoxicated law firm.
In addition to jail time and/or probation, you may also face additional penalties as a result of a first-time DWI. There may also be consequences from areas that fall outside the justice system, such as increased insurance premiums.
-Fees and Fines
A reliable driving while intoxicated law firm in MD knows that there are many fees that may apply upon completion of your DWI case. If your car has been impounded or your license suspended, you may have to pay to get them both back. There may also be court fees involved, and if you have to have an ignition interlock device installed, that is an additional expenses. You are expected to pay these fees on top of any fines that the court imposes, which could range from $500 to $2,000.
Most DWI consequences only take effect following conviction. License suspension is an exception; an arrest alone may be sufficient grounds. However, if losing your driving privileges would cause particular hardship, i.e., you have no other way to get to your work, you may qualify for a restricted license.
Sometimes, in order to reinstate your driver’s license, you have to undergo some sort of drug treatment program or course of alcohol education classes. As an example, the First Offender Program in California is a 30-hour course that lasts for three months.
It may be possible to successfully challenge DWI charges in court. One of the attorneys from The Law Firm of Frederick J. Brynn, P.C., a driving while intoxicated law firm in Maryland, would be happy to evaluate your case.